30 Women in 30 Days – Day 13

Celebrating Motherhood

Since the moment my first daughter was born 35 years ago motherhood has been my top priority in life.  I fell in love with my baby girl and knew I would fight for her no matter what it took.  My second daughter was born two years later and I loved my second baby girl as much as my first.

Parenting was challenging at times. They don’t stay babies forever and before you know it they’re out of your sight and starting to live their own life.

Eventually they become teenagers and the challenge of raising daughters peaks.  I used every trick imaginable to get them both through high school and to keep them safe.

Then they left home and went to college. I cried my heart out and thought they would never come back.  I guess it’s call the empty nest stage.  Oh, but they did come back and they were grown women by then, college educated and ready to take the world on.

Somehow we all survived those years of joy and angst, pushing and pulling each other through the best and worst situations.  We faced life together and shared our special love for each other when it was needed the most.  We still do.

I wasn’t perfect but they both tell me I was a good mother.  Who would know better than them? I did my job and now it’s their turn.  Motherhood is contagious.

“What is so real as the cry of a child?
A rabbit’s cry may be wilder
But it has no soul.” – Sylvia Plath, Ariel

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Art, Photography, Poetry, Reality, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. like the Sylvia Plath quote — and there are few tributes higher than what your daughters have bestowed upon you. I really mean that. Good job.

  2. Wonderful post!
    Since my daughter’s birth 34 years ago, motherhood (and now grandmother-hood) are at the top of my priorities and the loves of my life, so I really understood this post.

  3. When I read the title, I instantly thought that you mean 30 women in 30 days as in you’d slept with 30 women in 30 days lo (despite being a woman).

  4. My daughter was born 33 years ago and my life has been a beautiful gift ever since – wonderful post ;)

  5. Well… Well… Well! Thats too cool! :)

Leave a Reply

