Online Dating Pitfall

Looking for love on a dating site can often be maddening. It’s a lot like catalog shopping.

For example, I see a picture of a pair of boots I love in a catalog. I read the description and they seem to be exactly what I’m looking for so I order them.

When I get them there’s problems. They’re not what they looked like in the picture. They don’t fit right. They might even be damaged.

I get disappointed and even angry about it. I made assumptions about the item. I had expectations. I was attracted to how they looked. They sounded so good on paper.

Now I have to decide whether to keep the boots or send them back. Maybe I could re-gift them or give them away just to get rid of them.

What we get is not always the gig we signed up for. Maybe I’m expecting too much by relying on a picture and description to form an attraction to someone. After all, these are just superficial aspects of a person.

There’s no way I can know a person by reading their profile. It’s like writing an ad, It’s just enough to try to capture someone’s attention. It’s not an in-depth description of who they are, where they’re at, and what they value.

I’ve found that with online dating sites, it’s one thing to become curious about someone. It’s another thing to become instantly attracted to them.

Be cautious with your heart and don’t fall for the hype. The last pair of boots I got was a bad fit but I wore them anyway.

I’m trying to become a more savvy shopper.  This way I might have a better chance at finding my true fit.

It pays to be fearless. Love to you all…Karm

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Dating & Sex, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The Old Heave Ho

    The few internet dates I went on were disastrous I quickly gave up!

  2. I’ve had a few train wrecks myself

  3. Another been there, done that & got the tee shirt, GF…lol…But, we have to try to move forward & not let one disaster color our view of the rest! Hugs!

  4. jandkray it’s not easy sifting through to someone decent

  5. I guess I can consider myself happy, I’ve met some good people through the internet and one made me fall in love.. So, here I am, in love with a man I met on a dating website! I wish you all the same! Just don’t loose hope! If it’s meant for you, it will be yours! Xx

Leave a Reply

