Compassion

“Compassion is that which makes the heart of the good move at the pain of others. It crushes and destroys the pain of others; thus, it is called compassion. It is called compassion because it shelters and embraces the distressed.” – The Buddha

Compassion is defined as “deep awareness of the suffering of another coupled with the wish to relieve it.”

There are so many people in the world with broken hearts, broken dreams and broken wings.

Perhaps we know someone who has lost a child, has been the victim of a violent crime, has lost their home and possessions in a fire or natural disaster  or has a loved one fighting cancer.

We empathize with their suffering.  We understand their suffering.  We imagine the pain they’re going through.

I doubt there’s anyone who hasn’t felt sadness, loneliness and despair for themselves and others. There’s a good chance we will all suffer through trauma, loss or hopelessness in our lifetime.

Compassion takes it a step further where we want to relieve their suffering.  We open our hearts to the person and want to do something to ease their pain.  Compassion is the willingness to help others in need.  Compassion is action.

It’s easy for me to be compassionate toward people who treat me well.  It’s a lot more difficult to be compassionate with someone who has hurt me.  It’s truly a sign of growth when I reach that turning point and can be willing to help them.

So many have helped me find hope at times.  I can honestly say that not everyone who has helped me has been my friend, or has even known or liked me.

There are good people in the world who can set aside their differences and resentments to help someone in need.  I admire them and learn from them.

Compassion can expand a person’s experience in the world in a positive way…rescuing an animal, feeding the hungry, listening to the despair of another human being, a smile for the lonely,  assisting the elderly.  The possibilities are endless.

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Dating & Sex, Music, Relationships, Spiritual, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. A great post, Karm. You are right, it can be remarkably difficult to show compassion towards those who have hurt us, that is part of being human. Stretching beyond that, going outwith our comfort zone and doing what we know is right requires strength and open mindedness. 🙂

  2. Hi, dear H.
    I suppose this is why you & I are so much alike! So many people are selfish & wouldn’t know compassion for others because they’re more concerned about themselves…sigh…So sad! In order for us to love one another, we MUST show compassion! Maybe that’s another reason we also get hurt, but at least we HAVE a heart, huh, GF? Hugs!

  3. Yes we have a heart and it gets broken sometimes. The good thing is the heart heals.

  4. Bravo! I had to step back and look at myself after reading this.

Leave a Reply

