Friday Fictioneers 6/1 – via Madison Woods

Every Wednesday visit Madison Wood’s site to see the picture prompt for the week’s 100-word writing challenge.  Write a 100-word story or poem that’s inspired by the picture.  Post the writing on your blog.  On Friday post a link to your blog entry in the comments section of her Friday Fictioneers post.

I’ve been reading entries for a few weeks and am always impressed by the variety of responses. I’m going to give it a try so this is my first entry.  Your comments and critiques are welcome.

He never experienced such overwhelming loneliness until the day he realized she was never coming back.  For years he missed her day and night. The tiny cottage where they lived together hadn’t changed since she left.  Alone and broken, he had become isolated from the world.

As he climbed higher he knew today was different.  In isolation he found freedom, peace and strength. Looking at the skyline of the town she loved so much, he knew it was time to let her go. He opened the urn and watched her ashes dance away in the wind.  Smiling, he waved goodbye.

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on June 1, 2012, in Flash Fiction, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. Very Nice, Karmic Diva…

  2. Aw, so sad. For the briefest moment, I assumed she’d left him as in walked out on him. This was sadder though. I liked that he was able to come to grips at the end. Nibs job. Welcome to the group.

    My linky: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/05/31/the-beautiful-hush/

  3. Very poignant and it didn’t travel in the direction I had expected it to, so that was a nice, if wistful, little twist. I like how your flash is separated into two paragraphs, one that leads up to the prompt, one that deals with the prompt a little more directly. Helps to make you feel as if you are moving, journeying with the narrator physically.

    Really enjoyed this, well done! 🙂

  4. Dear KarmicDiva,

    This was a great first foray into the weekly fun of FridayFictioneers. It was sad and then happy in a way and resolution enters your MC’s life and the story itself through your clever reveal. The picture lent itself well to the description of his climbing higher; on both an emotional plane and simple altitude as well. Welcome aboard.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Thank you Doug. I loved the photo and was impressed with the stark contrast between the cold, hard foreground and the warm, inviting skyline in the background. I’ve been to Maui and most of the other islands. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth. Thanks for sharing your photo. Aloha

  5. Beautiful, it captured me so well that i forgot to breath till i reached the end. thank you for sharing this.

  6. Brandon Scott

    Sad, but I’m glad he could finally accept her loss and move on. I know I’d have a hard time doing that if I lost my wife. Welcome to the club.

    http://authorbrandonscott.wordpress.com/2012/05/31/be-warned/

  7. You wrote a sad story to say good-bye to what seemed to be his true love. Your story ending could be the beginning of a longer story. Nice write.

  8. i wasn’t sure what was happening, and then “urn” snapped it all together. nicely done. thanks.

  9. It was my first entry. Thanks for your encouragement.

  10. Like Rich I was getting a little confused. I felt like she had abandoned him. But why abandon a place she loved? I’m glad that you brought it all together when he spread her ashes it all came together nicely. Well done. Here’s mine: http://remakingme-atiyatownes.blogspot.com/2012/06/friday-flash-fiction-start-day.html

  11. Very nice, a sweet story of love.

  12. Very moving piece. AT first I wasn’t sure what direction you were going to go in and I’m glad your protagonist found peace. Here’s mine: http://postcardfiction.com/2012/06/01/payback/

  13. That is a sad and sweet story and it makes that beautiful mountain a perfect burial site. Well done.

  14. Thank you. That’s what I was thinking too.

Leave a Reply

