Friday Fictioneers 6/8 – via Madison Woods

Every Wednesday visit Madison Wood’s site to see the picture prompt for the week’s 100-word writing challenge.  Write a 100-word story or poem that’s inspired by the picture.  Post the writing on your blog.  On Friday post a link to your blog entry in the comments section of her Friday Fictioneers post.

This is my post for this week…BLIMP. Your feedback and comments are welcome.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

H-“We’ll be there in about 10 minutes.”

W-“Yes, I can see the ocean ahead. I’m so nervous.”

H-“Me too honey. The rescue team should be there by now.”

W-“It’s a clear day. They should have good visibility.”

H-“Oh look! The Coast Guard is using boats and helicopters to search for them.”

The captain announced, “They found the boat. Three crew members are dead on board. The fourth man is alive but seriously injured.”

H-“That’s terrible news but I’m glad they were found.”

W-“How sad! I was hoping they’d be found alive.”

They hugged tightly, grateful they were together in the clouds.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Flash Fiction, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. I liked this! Very well done….I’m wondering how they got out there and who it is that is hugging and what relationship they have to those that were in the boat….Questions, questions 🙂

    Here’s my go: http://theforgottenwife.com/2012/06/07/friday-fictioneers-6812/

  2. They spotted the boat from the blimp. Initially, I thought they were a couple waiting to hear news about their lost kids. Very interesting.

  3. together in the clouds. that’s a dream.

  4. Must be a beautiful sight above the clouds–quite a contrast to what they saw below. Good job!

    mine: http://www.vlgregory-circa1800.vpweb.com/blog.html

  5. rochellewisoff

    How sad and very close to a true life story in the news in Kansas. Poignant.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/06/wings.html

  6. The dialogue flowed naturally with a fine twist at the end. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/fridayfictioneers-emily/

  7. genius interpretation my friend.

  8. I will forever envy all you storytellers. Great job. Please tell me what you think, I attempted a pseudo story this time: http://niftitalks.com/2012/06/08/up/

  9. Sad. I was hoping they’d all be found alive too.

    Here’s mine: http://logo-ligi.com/2012/06/08/radiant-flight/

  10. This one is interesting. And very well-written. Makes me want to read on… Mine’s at http://marilynkaydennis.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/madison-woods-friday-fictioneers-panther

  11. I think I took from that that they were glad that their bodies had been found and hot on the heels of a similar news story that happened here in Dorset 🙂

  12. Dear KD,

    Their view to a tragedy was simply illustrated by your spartan approach. Their love is palpable toward the end. Death on one hand reinforces love on the other. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/joining-a-murmuration-or-bud-cowarts-view/

  13. The connection between life and death and love is profound at times. Thanks for your comment.

  14. I like this, I really enjoy dialogue pieces. If there was one thing I might develop further, its the reaction to the deaths. Perhaps that could be given more intensity with more shock or sadness…? Does that make sense? I like what you have here, nice work, Karm. 🙂

Leave a Reply

