Friday Fictioneers 6/29 – via Madison Woods

Liz patiently watered the raspberry bushes that she lovingly nurtured each summer.  They had grown to five feet tall and were bearing fruit that had to be picked daily.

Raspberry season was one of Liz’s favorite times as a child.  Her grandfather’s trellised vines were twice her height.  Each morning she and her grandmother filled a bucket with ripe berries. It was her job to pick from the bottom.

After blessing the harvest they would eat a bowl of raspberries covered in thick cream.  Today Liz wanted to prepare her grandmother’s favorite dessert for her granddaughter, raspberries and pound cake.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


Every Wednesday visit Madison Wood’s site to see the picture prompt for the week’s 100-word writing challenge. Write a 100-word story or poem that’s inspired by the picture. Post the writing on your blog. On Friday post a link to your blog entry in the comments section of her Friday Fictioneers post.

This is my post for this week…. Your feedback and comments are welcome.

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on June 29, 2012, in Flash Fiction, Photography, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. If she’s offering up pound cake I’ll have some. Hold the raspberries though, not my style. Nice little story you’ve crafted here.

    Mine: http://adamickes.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/berry-tester/

  2. Lovely wee story. I like the generation leap in the last sentence, passing down the good memories so they live on.

    I’m here: http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/friday-fictioneers-29th-june/

  3. A sweet, nostalgic tale which left me feeling wistful and happy. It seems we both wrote stories about picking berries with grandmother, though my story has a different tone. My story is here: http://bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

  4. That sounds so so good. I love raspberries covered in sugar and splashed with vanilla. Like sinfully good. I could be seduced with that. I liked this. Very warm.

    My linky: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/pick-me/

  5. Always a great idea to show the continuation of a tradition, especially when you show it as nicely as you do here. Nice work!

  6. Yum. Now I am hungry. Thanks for the shared memory.

  7. A nice little story. Well written. I’ll have some of the raspberries and cream, if there’s any to spare. My story’s on the list.

  8. I love raspberries and cream too. life was simple back then.

  9. That’s a nice story … would you help me out with a description of ‘pound cake’ please?

  10. Raspberries and pound cake, yum!

  11. Mmmm, sounds good … so you serve it with fruit on the side, as it were?

  12. I think this 100 word story activity is really good for you, you’re great at it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

