A Cockroach or a Prince?

There’s a big difference between someone who is a nice guy and someone who tries to convince you he’s a nice guy.

When we’re dating and looking for true love we all want to find a nice guy, but do we really know what the differences are between a cockroach and a prince?

You can’t assume he’s a nice guy because he looks good, has a great body, nice eyes, a beautiful smile, a good job, an education, is charming, makes you laugh and/or says everything you want to hear.  He might look like a good catch on the outside but could still be a cockroach on the inside.

Here are 10 nice guy attributes to look for in the guy you’re dating or in a relationship with.

1. Nice guys aren’t broken; you don’t need to spend a lot of energy trying to fix him.

2. Nice guys give compliments, not criticism; you don’t feel bad about yourself when you’re with him.

3. Nice guys are  honest, not deceitful; you don’t worry about where you stand with him.

4. Nice guys are devoted to you, not attached to someone else (not married or still hung up on someone in their past); you don’t have to be his therapist or hear him vent about his feelings for someone else.

5. Nice guys are empathetic and caring; you don’t have to feel confused and insecure because he flip-flops between hot and cold.

6. Nice guys value their time with you; you don’t have to worry about why he’s not calling or making plans with you.

7. Nice guys take you out;  you don’t have to feel like a booty call or on-call vagina.

8. Nice guys make you a priority; you don’t have to feel like you’re last on his list of people to see.

9.  Nice guys acknowledge your feelings and needs; you don’t have to worry about giving in to his unreasonable demands and expectations.

10. Nice guys like you just the way you are; you don’t have to worry about not being good or special enough for him.

Now take a look at how you feel about yourself when you’re with him.  If you feel like an option, a disappointment, a booty call or a therapist with him chances are he’s not such a nice guy after all.  

If you have a personal story please share your thoughts and experiences.

About Karmic Diva

I'm a song in the key of life, a work in progress, a diamond in the rough. I write, scribble, babble and doodle endlessly. I'm here to love and learn. -Karmic Diva-

Posted on June 30, 2012, in Dating & Sex, Relationships, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. very nice, I am working on a post for my daughters named “how do you know” to talk about how to look for the proper qualities in a man. Yours is quite thorough. If you don’t mind, I would like to link to it.

    bw

  2. glad you like it. I raised 2 daughters, now grown so I know what you mean. You can link to it if you want. thanks.

  3. Nice guys are often the ones hiding in plain sight and, sadly, get ignored as a result.

  4. I agree with Scot on some level. Personally, I want the nice guy, but I want him to have a bad boy edge or flair, because I’m picky and awful. I like a little bit of a darker side to a man… I think most women do. But guys can have that edgier side without being the asshole. And Nice guys are awesome, and put up with a lot of shit. Dating sucks. But this post doesn’t. Love.

    xoxo
    Fatal

    • I agree Fatal. Nice guys aren’t necessarily wimps. Nice guys can be strong men with strong personalities, That’s the edgy side that I love. The life of a cockroach is one big ego trip.

    • Women like the bad boys because the exude confidence (real or otherwise). No one wants an asshole, but nice guys can come off as unconfident and that’s never attractive. So, I agree with Fatal here: nice guys with confidence are what I love 🙂

      • I’ll take the confidence of a nice guy over the arrogance of a cockroach any day. They’re so ego driven and that’s a turn off after awhile.

  5. Reblogged this on The Naked Rainbow™.

  6. H., You know my recent story from the dating site, the one who didn’t like my glasses{made me look older…GRRRR!!!}, my hair{blonde in front, dark in back} & wanted to know if I snored, if so, we’d have to do something about that!!! EXCUSE ME???What I didn’t share on DH was he turned right around & told me he wanted to marry me by November!!!! He SERIOUSLY needs a therapist, ASAP!!!! We’d only talked by phone for 2 nights, for pities sake!!! HE didn’t want anyone to change HIM, but he was all about changing ME! I like who I am, how I look & told him I’d never had any complaints on all of the dates I’d had…sigh…I also told him a few choice other things he could do, but as a lady, I won’t air all of that! He deleted his profile, thank God! I hate to think he’d contacted any of my many friends there on DH….Hugs, my friend!

    • Sadly there are so many like that. They want a barbie or a perfect 10 and when they can’t get one they try to mold one out of a perfectly beautiful woman like yourself. Keep walking and smiling. Hugs.

  7. I wish I could accept my man’s compliments more readily… I hope that I give him enough compliments. I should work on doing that more often. Very nice list, I gave it five stars! 🙂

  8. Hmm, I should be bookmarking posts like this for when my daughter is a teenager 🙂
    Good stuff, my friend!
    (and did you change your blog theme/background? It looks great!)
    anne

  9. I’ve been through this so many times I wanted to share my thoughts about it. Glad you liked it. Thank you.

  1. Pingback: The Neighbor is still a nice guy. « A Dissolute Life Means…

  2. Pingback: The Act of Settling and Why You Shouldn’t Do It « Musings of a Bored Teenager

Leave a Reply

